Haliburton County Living: Young Adult Read-Alikes for Adult Fiction

Amanda’s Adventures in Reading

Amanda Wilk

Many adult readers will steer clear of young adult (YA) fiction, believing that YA titles contain less advanced writing, teen characters that are hard to connect with, or simpler themes. But by avoiding this section of the library, readers will miss out on some amazingly creative, well written, and transportative reads. In fact, many of my favourite books including: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, If I Stay by Gayle Forman, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor are classified as young adult fiction. So today in celebration of young adult literature, I am sharing a few young adult read-alikes for popular adult fiction titles.

sarah's keyFor example, if you liked Tatiana de Rosnay’s Sarah’s Key, a book set in Paris with two connected storylines, the first of which recounts the journey Sarah, a young Jewish girl must undergo when in 1942 she is brutally arrested by the French police; and the second set in 2002 where journalist Julia Jarmond stumbles upon Sarah’s story, you might also enjoy Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly.

Another book with two narrators born in different times, Revolution tells the story of Andi Alpers, a troubled but highly talented girl who feels utterly destroyed by the death of her younger brother Truman. When Andi is forced to accompany her absentee father to Paris, she discovers the journal of Alexandrine Paradis, an eighteenth century girl, who cannot imagine the ways in which the imminent French Revolution will change her world. Born centuries apart, but connected through tragic circumstances, Andi and Alexandrine’s lives flow together in Jennifer Donnelly’s Revolution.

Or if you’re a fan of Laura Moriarty’s The Chaperone, a book which begins in 1922 when Cora Carlisle takes a life altering trip to New York actingthe chaperone as the chaperone for future superstar Louise Brooks, consider reading The Diviners by Libba Bray. Another novel set in New York City during the roaring twenties, The Diviners begins the story of Evie O’Neil, a would be flapper who shares many similarities with Louise Brooks, but is also plagued with the supernatural ability to see into people’s pasts by holding objects of personal value to them. When a girl is murdered and left with mystical markings on her body, Evie finds herself drawn into the investigation and placed on the path of a dangerous and devious killer.

With young adult fiction to suit all tastes, the Haliburton County Public Library has something for everyone, so next time you’re in at your local branch, be sure to stop by the young adult section, where you may just find a new favourite book or author. As always, all of the titles mentioned are available to reserve from the library today.

* Originally published on March 14th in Haliburton County Living

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s