Library Moments: Mother’s Day

From Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman.

From Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman.

Sherrill Sherwood, Collection Development: Hello, I’m Sherrill Sherwood from the Haliburton County Public Library and this is Library Moments. Once a week some of us from the library will come and talk about books, upcoming events, or the services we offer at the library.

For our Mother’s Day edition of Library Moments, Erin Kernohan-Berning, Bessie Sullivan and I would like to share how our mothers have influenced us and how that has reflected in our reading choices.

the whispering statueErin Kernohan-Berning, Branch Services Librarian: Some of the first detective books that my mother introduced to me were from the Nancy Drew series, written collectively under the pseudonym of Carolyn Keene. Starting with The Secret of the Old Clock published in 1930, the classic stories have remained popular (albeit, slightly revised) and cited by many powerful women as inspiration – from Supreme Court Justices to Secretaries of State. The adventures of the feisty and independent teenaged detective were a staple of my reading between grades 4 and 5, starting with the stories The Mystery of the Ivory Charm and The Whispering Statue. I believe that starting with Nancy Drew really led me to appreciate strong female characters in writing, and to understand that as a woman I could really do anything I put my mind to. Reading Nancy Drew also influenced my later reading choices, particularly a love of adventure stories and detective fiction. 

lean inBessie Sullivan, County Librarian: My mother was a nurse and a hospital administrator.  Mid-career she founded a non-profit health organization that still exists today.  She has taught me everything I know about marketing, promotion, and selling your cause.  She has also taught me to respect myself as a woman and always have a seat at the table.  Sheryl Sanberg Chief Operating Officer for Facebook has written two books recently that talk about this subject.  Sheryl Sanberg Chief Operating Officer for Facebook has written books on this subject. In Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead Sanberg says, “Thirty years after women became 50 percent of the college graduates in the United States, men still hold the vast majority of leadership positions in government and industry. This means that women’s voices are still not heard equally in the decisions that most affect our lives.” Sandberg examines why women’s progress in achieving leadership roles has stalled, explains the root causes, and offers compelling, common sense solutions that can empower women to achieve their full potential.  Not every woman who wants a leadership position was lucky enough to have the role modelling of a mother like mine, for them I recommend this book. 

it's all too muchSherrill: My mom did not work outside the house until she was almost fifty. Our home was well taken care of and there was always lots of great food to eat, made from scratch. Since that was mom’s job, I didn’t have to help out very much in the kitchen or with cleaning. And then I was on my own as a young adult with very little skill in homemaking and a great desire to achieve the clean, beautifully decorated home and to make delicious home cooked meals that I so loved in my youth. The library has supplied me with information – from how to clean anything, to home decorating, to cooking, to organizing and anything in between. I’ve read volumes and applied them to my life and my home. Taste of Home cookbooks and Peter Walsh’s It’s All Too Much: an easy plan for living a richer life with less stuff were titles that turned things in my favour. While it’s rare to have our house spotless like mom had it, I feel that thrill and enjoyment of a job well done when I do accomplish it. Thanks for all your hard work Mom!

That’s it for this week’s edition of Library Moments, thanks for listening here on 100.9 Canoe FM.

*Originally aired on 100.9 CANOE FM, May 4-11, 2014.

Leave a Reply

