HCPL’s Staff Pick: Three Day Road

three day roadThree Day Road by Joseph Boyden 

Julie Thornton, Branch Supervisor at HCPL’s Wilberforce Branch recommends Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden.

Xavier and Elijah have left their pristine northern country to serve in the horrific trenches of World War I. Xavier returns physically and psychologically wounded and dependent on morphine. As he travels home with his aunt, Niska, by canoe, his story is told in a series of flashbacks from the war. As he and Niska exchange tales, he travels on his own three-day road embarking on a journey of healing.

Julie says: “I found this book to be very eye-opening for me with regards to the treatment of Natives by our society. I have been inspired to do more reading and research into Native history since reading Three Day Road. This book touched me on a very emotional level and caused me to really look inside myself in terms of how I view and treat others.”

Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden is available to reserve at the Haliburton County Public Library.

*Originally published in the Minden Times on December 24th, 2014.

Leave a Reply

