50 stories: A library with a heart #hcpl50

Another example of HCPL pre-computer. Stan McDougall, then County Librarian, searches the card catalogue c. 1979. Photo credit: Len Pizzey (Haliburton Echo)

Another example of HCPL pre-computer.
Stan McDougall, then County Librarian, searches the card catalogue c. 1979.
Photo credit: Len Pizzey (Haliburton Echo)

This week’s story is from Sheila Ziman.

“I love reading.  I read every day, mostly novels but some non-fiction as well.  I can’t fall asleep without reading.  The local library is my primary source of reading material.

Twenty-seven years ago, when I first moved to Haliburton County, there were no computers and your library card was a small paper card.  I knew only one person in Haliburton and she was a seasonal resident.  No one knew me.

One day I approached the library counter with an armload of books, but I couldn’t find my card and the librarian couldn’t track down my card number.  The librarian took one look at my face and said, “Don’t worry dear.  I hate to think of someone not having anything to read.  You can sign out your books on my card.”  I couldn’t believe the librarian would do that for me – a complete stranger!

When I got home, I phoned a close friend of mine who was a librarian in Toronto.  I told her the story and we both laughed, but I knew that I had not only found a wonderful new home, I had also found a library with a heart.”

Leave a Reply

