Library Moments: Red Cart Fridays

Sherrill Sherwood, Collection Development: Hello, I’m Sherrill Sherwood from the Haliburton County Public Library and this is Library Moments. Once a week some of us from the library will come and talk about books, upcoming events, or the services we offer at the library.

Most Fridays are special for the Library Administrative office because the new books, dvds and books on cd that we have ordered from our vendor arrive. The boxes are ceremoniously opened and the items are placed on The Red Cart. The first order of business is to get any items with holds out to you, the library patrons, as fast as we can. But that doesn’t stop us from taking a look at what has just arrived.

The library staff all have different areas of the cart that our eyes scan first – the ones we want to place holds on.Today on Library Moments Erin Kernohan-Berning and I will each talk about where our attention is directed when The Red Cart is open for business.

Erin Kernohan-Berning, Branch Services Librarian: When I look at the red cart, I gravitate immediately to the adult fiction section. I’m usually looking for something stand alone and quirky, avoiding books where the author’s name is in bigger type than the title. I’ll also admit I’m a sucker for a pretty cover – though the adage to never judge a book by its cover definitely holds true and has proved itself over and over again much to my disappointment. Because of my involvement with the Evergreen Award program through the Forest of Reading, I read a lot of Canadian fiction – so if the spine has that little red maple leaf sticker it gets a good look from me too. Because I’m a slow reader, thinner books get a look before thicker ones – between 250 and 350 pages seems to be the sweet spot for a book that can pull a good story together without feeling like it’s dragging. Looking at what’s on the red cart right now, I’m actually sizing up a 506 page red covered monstrosity with the intriguing title of Dracula vs. Hitler – it was blurbed by internet famous super geek Felicia Day so it may be up my ally. I’m also looking at the far less assuming short story collection Nothing in Reserve by Iraq War veteran Jack Lewis.

Sherrill Sherwood, Collection Development: For sure my favorite area of the red cart is the non-fiction section. I don’t really have any particular topic I am looking for – sometimes a cookbook will catch my eye, often information on health issues deserves a look, it could be psychology, philosophy – my interest is in anything to do with living and these books filled with facts and often pictures and how to do something and new research, well I just get excited about it. A new one that called out to me this month is Backroads of Ontario by Ron Brown. Backroads of Ontario gives travelers the information and maps they need to explore Ontario in a new and creative way. It invites them to exit the noisy busy highways and take a trip through Ontario’s countryside and its history: silent ghost towns, charming villages, century-old mills and farmhouses, dramatic cliffs, prime picnic spots, architectural curiosities, an amethyst mine, an underwater graveyard of shipwrecks and so much more. There are 24 trips, each illustrated with photographs and accompanied by an easy-to-follow map. Trips range in length from afternoon outings to weekend excursions and all lead to out-of-the-way places. The library has ten other titles in the collection by Ron Brown and all are about Ontario. The most popular one so far appears to be Ghost Towns of Ontario Volume Two.

While Red Cart Fridays are special days, any day is a good one when you are at the library, surrounded by books. That’s it for this week’s Library Moments, thanks for listening here on 100.9 Canoe FM.

*Originally aired on 100.9 CANOE FM.

 

Leave a Reply

