50 stories: Connecting technically and socially #hcpl50

This week’s story is from Andrea Percy.

“I moved up to Eagle Lake in 2010 from Lindsay where all my friends were. I only had a laptop at that point and no service provider, so the Dysart branch was a great place to get connected technically and socially. To sit in that warm cultural space, take in the view of Head Lake and the presence of staff and visitors was a meaningful introduction to my new community.

friends shelf and baskets

Used books and book baskets by the Friends of the Haliburton County Public Library at the Dysart branch.

Since then, I’ve borrowed many books and movies and discovered the Minden branch and the convenience of being able to pick up / drop off at both branches. I’ve attended a couple of the yearly fundraisers at the Pinestone and enjoyed the speakers brought in for our edification and pleasure. The book baskets and the used book shelves – love ’em! The last basket I bought contained books by Booker Prize-winning authors I’d never read. Turns out I love surprises!

Most recently, I’ve discovered the Shakespeare Club. Thank you, Vicky, for thoughtfully chairing the group in your cheerful style. To share Shakespeare thoughts with other lovers of The Bard is a brilliant notion and I look forward to it every month.”

 You too can join our Shakespeare Club. Join us at the Dysart branch every 3rd Thursday of the month. 

Leave a comment